Vacant in Niagara Falls

There is something so hauntingly beautiful about being in nature when nobody is around, which tends to happen in low season times. Some places are busy all year around, and that is kind of how Niagara falls was this year at the end of February. Although, when I look back at my photos it makes me feel like I was alone in nature and those not so typical scenes of this scenic country I live in, is what I like to photograph.

Here is my shot of Niagara falls, and I hope it is less typical of what you have seen of it.

View More: http://katerinaandrea.pass.us/kkinto

I know I said the point of my blog was to post one frame, and have it be the best frame that summed up my trips, travels and adventures, but this one doesn’t really. Because I didn’t go to the Niagara falls because I really wanted to go to a touristy spot and get a photo that everyone has. I usually do the opposite, but I went to Ontario to visit my long time friend, Kaitlin. She moved to Guelph, Ontairo and I moved to Calgary. We hadn’t seen each other in months, but she is one of those friends, no matter the distance or the vacancy in each others lives – we always find peace in seeing each other. We have known each other for so long, that it is like when we do see each other, we keep each other grounded and get back to our roots. We know each other really well. So to me, the trip was more about that. We both moved to cities where nothing that we really knew was. A true test of who you are, when you are out on your own. I think this visit was important for both of us. Kaitlin and I don’t always see eye to eye, but we always see it through, and that is important to me in all my relationships.  That’s why we’ve been friends for so long. It’s scary to let someone see who you are when you are not on point and perfect, but to me in order to have long time friends, it’s something you just need to do. So here’s my one frame from what my trip was really about…

file-2016-10-28

This girl and I, and our ever-growing relationship. Friendship and sisterhood. And there’s something hauntingly beautiful about seeing relationship through, too. No matter the struggle.

Kat


Leave a comment